Slovenia co-initiates launch of shared commitments on UNRWA

Being aware of the numerous operational, political, and financial challenges UNRWA has been facing, especially in the last few months, Slovenia, Jordan, Kuwait, Algeria, Belgium, Brazil, Guyana, Indonesia, Ireland, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Qatar, South Africa, Spain and the State of Palestine decided to launch an initiative of shared commitments on UNRWA. The initiative reaffirms support to the vital role of UNRWA in providing assistance to generations of Palestinian refugees. We invite all other UN Member States to join.

This initiative follows up to challenges addressed at the UN Security Council briefing in April, General Assembly meeting in March and letter of the Commissioner General in February.

In accordance with its General Assembly mandate, the Agency has a vital role in providing life-saving humanitarian assistance and human development services to generations of Palestine refugees in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Jordan, Lebanon, and the Syrian Arab Republic. The 16 countries therefore believe it is important to reaffirm their support for the work of the Agency and its indispensable role in providing assistance and relief, and to send signals of strong political support to UNRWA.

Shared commitments address several aspects: from UNRWA’s role in Gaza and for regional stability, to its financial crisis, questions related to the principles of neutrality, recognition of the tireless efforts of UNRWA staff, the importance of cooperation with the Agency etc.

The 16 countries hope the initiative will garner strong support. They seize this opportunity to reaffirm in these difficult, challenging and tragic circumstances their firm commitment to the just resolution of the question of Palestine, including on the Palestinian refugees, and the achievement of just, comprehensive, and lasting peace in the region, consistent with UN resolutions and international law and the realization of the two-State solution based on the pre-1967 lines.

The letter to all Permanent Representatives and Permanent Observers to the UN, inviting them to join the 16 countries in this initiative, was sent today.

Access the shared commitments here.

Recent News

Slovenia building trust Logo